Aberdeen, SD – Whispers of Breed Specific Regulations

In March, 2011 Aberdeen City County passed a breed-neutral ordinance after six amendments were offered, including two that would have made the ordinance breed-specific.

Councilmembers David Bunsness and Laure Swanson proposed the two breed-specific amendments.

On October 9th, in response to a resident from the Rolling Hills development, Councilman Bunsness said he would like to talk more about restrictive penalties for pet owners who violate the ordinance after an Aberdeen dog attacked another dog.

Councillor Todd Campbell said he’s “not for a ban of any type, but certain breeds need more scrutiny than others.

City Manager Lynn Lander said the council will discuss the animal control ordinance at a work session.  That session will probably take place on Monday afternoon in November and will be open to the public.  The last time Council discussed BSL, local residents were on hand to oppose the suggested legislation.

Please send your POLITE, RESPECTFUL and INFORMATIVE correspondence to:

Mike Levsen, Mayor
Term expires June 30, 2014
mayor@aberdeen.sd.us

Lynn Lander, City Manager
lynn.lander@aberdeen.sd.us

Mark Remily, NE District Council Member
Term expires June 30, 2017
mark.remily@aberdeen.sd.us

Jeff Mitchell, NE District Council Member
Term expires June 30, 2013
jeff.mitchell@aberdeen.sd.us

Todd Campbell, NW District Council Member
Term expires June 30, 2017
todd.campbell@aberdeen.sd.us

Jennifer Slaight-Hansen, NW District Council Member
Term expires June 30, 2014
jennifer.slaight-hansen@aberdeen.sd.us

Clint Rux, SE District Council Member
Term expires June 30, 2017
clint.rux@aberdeen.sd.us

Laure Swanson, SE District Council Member
Term expires June 30, 2015
laure.swanson@aberdeen.sd.us

Tom Agnitsch, SW District Council Member
Term expires June 30, 2013
tom.agnitsch@aberdeen.sd.us

David Bunsness, SW District Council Member
Term expires June 30, 2015
david.bunsness@aberdeen.sd.us

About these ads

Comments are closed.