Ortonville, MI: City council to address “pit bull problems” (whispers of BSL)

Next council meeting: 7 p.m., Aug. 10 at the township offices, 395 Mill St.

City Council members:
Kenneth J. Quisenberry –  President
kenneth@ortonvillevillage.com

Kay Green – President Pro Tem (on committee to study this issue)
kay@ortonvillevillage.com

J. Harold Batten – Trustee
harold@ortonvillevillage.com

Dan Eschmann – Trustee
trusteeeschmann@charter.net

Melanie Nivelt – Trustee (on committee to study this issue)
melanie@ortonvillevillage.com

Aileen Champion – Trustee (on committee to study this issue)
aileen@ortonvillevillage.com

Mary Kassuba – Trustee
mary@ortonvillevillage.com

Julie Alexander – Clerk
julie@ortonvillevillage.com

Ed Coy – Villlage Manager
villagemanagered@aol.com

Larry Brown – Treasurer
larry@ortonvillevillage.com

Village council: ‘Pit bulls: We need to address this immediately’

Susan Bromley

July 29, 2009 – […] At the village council meeting July 27, several residents spoke out regarding pit bulls running loose in the village and menacing them, their children, and their pets.

[…] “We need to address this immediately,” said Councilmember Kay Green, who, along with Councilmembers Aileen Champion and Melanie Nivelt, has formed a committee to look at other area ordinances in regards to dogs, animal laws and regulations. They hope to have some proposals to bring to the rest of the council at their next meeting, 7 p.m., Aug. 10 at the township offices, 395 Mill St.[…]

Full article retrieved 8/4/09 from http://www.thecitizenonline.com/Articles-i-2009-07-29-230625.113121_Village_council_Pit_bulls_We_need_to_address_this_immediately.html

Advertisements

2 responses to “Ortonville, MI: City council to address “pit bull problems” (whispers of BSL)

  1. It is interesting that men like Mr.Vick get a break and the breed of dogs that he mutilated and abused are the ones that continue to be punished. Get a good spay/neuter law instead of a breed specific law. This continues to punish the victim.

  2. When I was younger than 5 years old, I was attacked by a beagle. I was bit in the face. I did not provoke it and it did not have rabies.

    Smaller dogs are much more aggressive than pit bulls. But it is much easier to pull off a small dog, than a larger one. Pet owners are responsible for their pets and the results of their actions.

    The compassion I have for my dog, makes me a better person and has brought joy to my life.