Kirksville, MO: Citizens speak out against pit bull ban

Kirksville city council took no action at this meeting. Most of those who spoke were against the ban.

Council meetings take place on the first and third Monday of every month at 6:00 p.m. in City Hall Council Chambers. Next city council meeting: Nov. 1. (unknown at this time whether the ordinance will be considered on that date).

Citizens speak out against pit bull ban

by Eden Derby
Posted: 10.18.2010 at 10:58 PM

KIRKSVILLE, MO — The air was thick with emotion in Kirksville Monday night at a public meeting about the city’s proposed Dangerous Animal Ordinance.

 The proposal would ban full or mixed breed pit bulls within the Kirksville city limits.

Two city employees were there to speak on behalf of staff, like meter readers who have been threatened by dogs.

16 citizens voiced their concerns with the breed-specific ban.[…]

Full article retrieved 10/19/10 from http://www.heartlandconnection.com/news/story.aspx?id=527954

The ordinance may be viewed here: http://www.kirksvillecity.com/filestorage/68/Dangerous_Animal_Ordinance_Draft.pdf

City of Kirksville, 201 South Franklin Street, Kirksville, MO 63501
660-627-1225
Toll Free: 888-299-1223
660-665-0940 (fax)

City Council:
Todd Kuhns, Mayor, tkuhns@kirksvillecity.com
Richard Detweiler, rdetweiler@kirksvillecity.com
Carolyn Chrisman, cchrisman@kirksvillecity.com
Tony Fajkus, tfajkus@kirksvillecity.com
Martha Rowe, mrowe@kirksvillecity.com
City Manager Mari Macomber, mmacomber@kirksvillecity.com
City Clerk Vicki Brumbaugh, vbrumbaugh@kirksvillecity.com

Comments are closed.