Blair, NE: Council to hold 2nd/final reading on BSL, Nov 9

Thanks to Jodi for this update!

A proposed breed specific ordinance before the Blair, Nebraska city council passed a first reading on October 26, 2010.  The issue is back on the agenda for the November 9, 2010 city council meeting.  According to the tentative meeting agenda, it is slated for its Second and/or FINAL reading next Tuesday night.

If you are in or near the Blair area, PLEASE make every effort to attend the council meeting held at the city council chambers, 218 S. 16th Street at 7:00 p.m.

Please continue to send your POLITE, RESPECTFUL and INFORMATIVE letters in opposition to breed specific legislation to the Blair officials listed below.

Blair City Hall, 218 South 16th Street, Blair, Nebraska 68008
Ph (402) 426-4191 Fax (402) 426-4195
cityofblair@ci.blair.ne.us

James Realph, Mayor, jrealph@ci.blair.ne.us
Chris Jensen, Ward 1, cjensen@ci.blair.ne.us
John Abbott, Ward 1, jabbott@ci.blair.ne.us
Frank Wolff, Ward 2, fwolff@ci.blair.ne.us
Keith Christiansen, Ward 2, Council President, kchristiansen@ci.blair.ne.us
Gary Fanoele, Ward 3, gfanoele@ci.blair.ne.us
Hal Kephart, Ward 3, hkephart@ci.blair.ne.us
Marty Shepard, Ward 4, mshepard@ci.blair.ne.us

Text of the proposed ordinance:

Sec. 6-132 Pit Bulls: Leash and Muzzle Required. It shall be unlawful for any persons owning, harboring, or having the care of a pit bull to permit such dog to be outdoors unless confined in a securely fenced yard or unless the dog is under the control of a person 19 years of age or older, restrained securely by a harness and leash no longer than six feet and properly muzzled to reasonably prevent the dog from biting.
For the purposes of this section, pit bull shall be defined as any dog that is an American Pit Bull Terrier, American Staffordshire Terrier, Staffordshire Bull Terrier, Dogo Argentina [sic], Presa Canario, Cane Corso, American Bulldog, or any dog displaying the majority of such physical traits of any one or more of the above breeds (more so than any other breed), or any dog exhibiting those distinguishing characteristics which substantially conform to the standards established by the American Kennel Club or United Kennel Club for any of the above breeds. The A.K.C. and U.K.C. standards for the above breeds are on file at the City office.

Read the entire proposal here.

All alerts for Blair: http://stopbsl.com/?s=%22blair%2C+ne%22

Comments are closed.