Sterling Heights, MI: Possible BSL to be discussed, Dec 7

Mayor and City Council
Mayor Richard Notte, rnotte@sterling-heights.net
Joseph Ramano, cityhall@sterling-heights.net
Yvonne Kniaz, ykniaz@sterling-heights.net
Deanna Koski, dkoski@sterling-heights.net
Maria Schmidt, mgschmidt@sterling-heights.net
Michael Taylor, mctaylor@sterling-heights.net
Barbara Ziarko, bziarko@sterling-heights.net

Previous alerts for Sterling Heights: http://stopbsl.com/?s=sterling+heights

Possible pit bull ban to be discussed Dec. 7

Published: Tuesday, November 23, 2010
By SEAN DELANEY

City Manager Mark Vanderpool says he plans to present a report Dec. 7 to the Sterling Height City Council whether or not the city should ban pit bulls or simply strengthen its current ordinance.[…]

A similar discussion in September on whether the city should pursue breed-specific legislation that would ban the dogs from the city altogether drew approximately 150 people. At that time, city officials were considering four options: 1) a total ban on pit bull breeds; 2) grandfather in current pit bull breeds and ban new ones; 3) strengthen the ordinance by making stiffer penalties; or 4) do nothing and keep the ordinance as is.

Vanderpool declined to comment on what the city’s recommendation would be Dec. 7.[…]

The recommendations are expected to be presented during the regular council meeting Dec. 7, which begins at 7:30 p.m. in the City Hall council chambers, 40555 Utica Road.

Full article retrieved 11/23/10 from http://www.sourcenewspapers.com/articles/2010/11/23/news/doc4cebd36b8bb29595868607.txt?viewmode=fullstory

Advertisements

Comments are closed.