Sterling Heights, MI reminder: Council to consider BSL, Dec 7

New information 12/3/10: The city has decided to proceed with BSL, according to Detroit Free Press. They may vote on the proposal on Dec. 7.

Sterling Heights proposal would set strict rules for pit bull owners

By Tammy Stables Battaglia
FREE PRESS STAFF WRITER

[…] The city announced the proposed regulations today, and they would not apply to current owners who have their dogs licensed prior to Jan. 1. According to the proposal, the dogs also must pass a temperament/training program every two licensing cycles; dogs licensed after Jan. 1 must be embedded with a microchip; someone must be home when the dog is outside, and the dogs must be spayed or neutered unless they are to be bred.

Owners of new pit bulls will have 14 days to comply with the new rules. Those that don’t could face $500 in fines for the first offense, $750 for the second, and $1,000 for ensuing infractions.

Article retrieved 12/3/10 from : http://www.freep.com/article/20101203/NEWS04/101203023/Sterling-Heights-proposal-would-set-strict-rules-for-pit-bull-owners#ixzz1744wpfo1

City manager Mark Vanderpool intends to present his recommendations to city council regarding whether the city should ban or restrict “pit bulls,” or simply strengthen existing ordinances. Vanderpool declined to state what his recommendations would be. The city has been considering BSL or a ban since at least June.

Vanderpool will present his recommendations during The regular city council meeting will be held on Dec. 7, at 7:30 p.m., in the City Hall council chambers at 40555 Utica Road.

Mayor and City Council
Mayor Richard Notte, rnotte@sterling-heights.net
Joseph Ramano, cityhall@sterling-heights.net
Yvonne Kniaz, ykniaz@sterling-heights.net
Deanna Koski, dkoski@sterling-heights.net
Maria Schmidt, mgschmidt@sterling-heights.net
Michael Taylor, mctaylor@sterling-heights.net
Barbara Ziarko, bziarko@sterling-heights.net

All alerts for Sterling Heights: http://stopbsl.com/?s=%22sterling+heights%22

Advertisements

Comments are closed.