Morton, IL: Resident requests BSL

Illinois state law prohibits municipalities from passing BSL. Morton is not “home rule” and therefore cannot pass laws that contradict state law.

Village of Morton Village Hall, 120 North Main Street, Post Office Box 28, Morton, Illinois 61550
309-266-5361
309-266-5508 (Fax)

Board of Trustees Contact Info:
President Norman Durflinger, ndurflinger@morton-il.gov
Trustee Ginger Hermann, ghermann@morton-il.gov
Trustee Tony Huette, thuette@morton-il.gov
Trustee Jeff Kaufman, jkaufman@morton-il.gov
Trustee Stephen E. Newhouse, snewhouse@morton-il.gov
Trustee Darrell Vierling, dvierling@morton-il.gov
Trustee Betsy Yarcho, byarcho@morton-il.gov

Regular Meetings of the Board of Trustees are held at 7:00 P.M. on the first and third Mondays of each month at Freedom Hall, 349 West Birchwood Street, Morton, Illinois. Meetings are open to the public.

A proposed ordinance may be presented during the Jan 3 meeting.

Dog attack on beagle described

Morton woman asks Village Board to craft vicious dog ordinance.

By STEVE STEIN (stevestein21@yahoo.com), Journal Star
Posted Dec 20, 2010 @ 11:20 PM

MORTON — Carrie Schmidt wants the village to adopt a vicious dog ordinance.[…]

The Mackinaw resident listed eight preventative measures she’d like to see included on a vicious dog ordinance, which would apply only to breeds considered dangerous.

Measures include limiting the number of dangerous breed dogs per household, special training for the dog and owner, significant liability insurance, village-approved dog fencing, and stiff penalties for violations.[…]

Mayor Norm Durflinger instructed village attorney Tom Davies to draft an ordinance that will be considered at the Jan. 3 board meeting.

Full article retrieved 12/21/10 from http://www.pjstar.com/news/x1148222770/Dog-attack-on-beagle-described

Advertisements

One response to “Morton, IL: Resident requests BSL

  1. Zbigniew Grabinski

    STOP BSL.STOP!!!!!!!!!!!!
    zb.Grabinski Poland