Terrebonne Parish, LA: Whispers of BSL

The statistics provided in this article are interesting, as not only were bite statistics provided, but cruelty case statistics were also provided. “Pit bulls” were involved in about a third of bite cases, but were involved in a much larger percentage of cruelty cases.

Nothing has been officially proposed at this time. Please offer polite, reasonable dialogue and breed-neutral alternatives for the parish council’s consideration.

Terrebonne Parish Council, 8026 Main Street, Suite 600, Houma, LA 70360
Phone: (985) 873-6519
Fax: (985) 873-6521

Mr. Alvin Tillman, atillman@tpcg.org
Ms. Arlanda J. Williams, ajwilliams@tpcg.org
Mr. Billy Hebert, bhebert@tpcg.org
Ms. Teri C. Cavalier, tcavalier@tpcg.org
Mr. Johnny Pizzolatto, jpizzolatto@tpcg.org
Mr. Kevin M. Voisin, kevin@kevinvoisin.com
Mr. Clayton Voisin, cjvoisin@tpcg.org
Mr. Joey Cehan, jcehan@tpcg.org
Mr. Pete Lambert, plambert@tpcg.org

Parish Council Quicklist
atillman@tpcg.org; ajwilliams@tpcg.org; bhebert@tpcg.org; tcavalier@tpcg.org; jpizzolatto@tpcg.org; kevin@kevinvoisin.com; cjvoisin@tpcg.org; jcehan@tpcg.org; plambert@tpcg.org

Do pit bulls pose a danger to the public?

By Nate Monroe
Staff Writer
Published: Sunday, February 6, 2011 at 6:01 a.m.

[…] After Silver was mauled, Terrebonne Councilman Billy Hebert, said he began considering new ordinances to better protect residents from pit-bull attacks, which could bring the debate over breed-specific legislation to the parish. Proponents of breed-specific legislation say such laws are common-sense ways to approach an obvious problem: Pit bulls are widely-owned, powerful and potentially aggressive dogs that pose public-health and safety concerns in communities across the country.[…]

Hebert said he is still researching the issue. While he said he considers pit bulls a public danger, he said he is open to authoring proposals that go beyond targeting pit bulls.

“Even when people have them on a leash they’re dangerous animals,” he said. “I don’t know about you, but I get nervous when I’m around a pit bull.”[…]

Full article retrieved 2/7/11 from http://www.houmatoday.com/article/20110206/ARTICLES/110209552/1211/news01?p=all&tc=pgall

Advertisements

Comments are closed.