Aberdeen, SD: Councilmember still pushing breed ban

Aberdeen, SD city council discussed revisions to their animal control laws last night. Although city council had indicated previously that the revisions would be breed-neutral, several councilmembers remain in support of a breed ban.

During the meeting, Councilmember David Bunsness offered up an amendment that would ban “pit bulls” from Aberdeen. The vote on the amendment was tied, with four councilmembers in support, and four against. Note that one councilmember did not vote (maybe not present).

Bunsness intends to try to pass the amendment again during the ordinance’s second reading (Monday, March 21). He only needs one more councilmember’s support.

Next city council meeting: Monday, March 21, at 5:30 PM at 123 South Lincoln Street, Aberdeen, SD 57401.

Contact info for city officials:
Mayor Mike J. Levsen, mayor@aberdeen.sd.us (Voted for ban)
Phone: (605) 626-7025
Jim Kraft, james.kraft@aberdeen.sd.us (Voted against ban)
Jeff Mitchell, jeff.mitchell@aberdeen.sd.us (Voted against ban)
Todd Campbell, todd.campbell@aberdeen.sd.us (No vote)
Jennifer Slaight-Hansen, jennifer.slaight-hansen@aberdeen.sd.us (Voted against ban)
Clint Rux, clint.rux@aberdeen.sd.us (Voted against ban)
Laure Swanson, laure.swanson@aberdeen.sd.us (Voted for ban)
Tom Agnitsch, tom.agnitsch@aberdeen.sd.us (Voted for ban)
David Bunsness, david.bunsness@aberdeen.sd.us (Proposed ban)

Email block for cut-and-paste:
mayor@aberdeen.sd.us; james.kraft@aberdeen.sd.us; jeff.mitchell@aberdeen.sd.us; todd.campbell@aberdeen.sd.us; jennifer.slaight-hansen@aberdeen.sd.us; clint.rux@aberdeen.sd.us; laure.swanson@aberdeen.sd.us; tom.agnitsch@aberdeen.sd.us; david.bunsness@aberdeen.sd.us

All alerts for Aberdeen, SD: http://stopbsl.com/?s=aberdeen+sd

Aberdeen pit bull ban comes up short

4-4 tie vote not enough to add amendment to proposed dog ordinance

 By JEFF BAHR, jbahr@aberdeennews.com
12:00 a.m. CDT, March 15, 2011

An amendment put forward to ban pit bulls in Aberdeen generated a 4-4 vote at Monday’s Aberdeen City Council meeting. The amendment did not pass because it failed to obtain a majority.

The amendment was offered up by David Bunsness, who said it was patterned after a law in effect in a Colorado city.

The amendment would have made it unlawful for any person to own, possess, keep, exercise control over, maintain, harbor, transport or sell within the city any pit bull. Those dogs would include American pit bull terriers, American Staffordshire terriers and Staffordshire bull terriers. Existing owners of pit bulls would be able to keep their dogs under restricted conditions.

The amendment was put forward as the council considered the first reading of recommended changes to Aberdeen’s animal control ordinances.[…]

Full article retrieved 3/15/11 from http://www.aberdeennews.com/news/aan-aberdeen-pit-bull-ban-comes-up-short-20110314,0,1149706.story

Advertisements

Comments are closed.