MA H00562 would prohibit BSL in Massachusetts

Edit Dec 2011: Since this bill never got out of committee, we believe it is dead.

Edit 5/27/11: This bill was heard by the joint committee on 5/11/11.

Rep. Bradford Hill has filed MA H00562, which would, among other things, prohibit municipalities from declaring dogs “dangerous” or “at risk” based on breed.

Excerpt from H00562:

Section 157D. Nothing in this chapter shall be construed to prevent a city or county from adopting or enforcing its own program for the control of At Risk or Dangerous Dogs that may incorporate all, part, or none of this chapter, or that may punish a violation of this chapter as a misdemeanor or may impose a more restrictive program to control At Risk or Dangerous Dogs, provided that no program shall regulate these dogs in a manner that is specific as to breed.

H00562 has been assigned to the Joint Committee on Municipalities and Regional Government. A hearing has not yet been scheduled.

Contact the following legislators to express your SUPPORT for the prohibition of breed-specific laws in Massachusetts.

Bill author:
Rep. Bradford Hill, Brad.Hill@mahouse.gov

Joint Committee on Municipalities and Regional Government members:
Sen. James T. Welch, James.Welch@masenate.gov
Sen. Daniel A. Wolf, Daniel.Wolf@masenate.gov
Rep. Michael F. Kane, Michael.Kane@mahouse.gov
Rep. Joyce A. Spiliotis, Joyce.Spiliotis@mahouse.gov
Sen. Gale D. Candaras, Gale.Candaras@masenate.gov
Sen. James E. Timilty, James.Timilty@masenate.gov
Sen. Sonia Chang-Diaz, Sonia.Chang-Diaz@masenate.gov
Sen. Richard J. Ross, Richard.Ross@masenate.gov
Rep. Cleon H. Turner, Cleon.Turner@mahouse.gov
Rep. Sean Garballey, Sean.Garballey@mahouse.gov
Rep. Brian M. Ashe, Brian.Ashe@mahouse.gov
Rep. Timothy R. Madden, Timothy.Madden@mahouse.gov
Rep. Gailanne M. Cariddi, gailanne.cariddi@mahouse.gov
Rep. Mark J. Cusack, mark.cusack@mahouse.gov
Rep. Jerald A. Parisella, jerald.parisella@mahouse.gov
Rep. Kevin J. Kuros, kevin.kuros@mahouse.gov
Rep. Ryan C. Fattman, ryan.fattman@mahouse.gov

Email block for cut and paste:
James.Welch@masenate.gov; Daniel.Wolf@masenate.gov; Michael.Kane@mahouse.gov; Joyce.Spiliotis@mahouse.gov; Gale.Candaras@masenate.gov; James.Timilty@masenate.gov; Sonia.Chang-Diaz@masenate.gov; Richard.Ross@masenate.gov; Cleon.Turner@mahouse.gov; Sean.Garballey@mahouse.gov; Brian.Ashe@mahouse.gov; Timothy.Madden@mahouse.gov; gailanne.cariddi@mahouse.gov; mark.cusack@mahouse.gov; jerald.parisella@mahouse.gov; kevin.kuros@mahouse.gov; ryan.fattman@mahouse.gov

H00562 can be read and tracked here: http://www.malegislature.gov/Bills/187/House/H00562

Advertisements

Comments are closed.