Ellenville, NY: Council may consider BSL

New York state law prohibits breed-specific laws, and we would hope the Ellenville village attorney knows this. Residents and locals are encouraged to attend the public hearing and provide effective breed-neutral laws for the council to consider.

Public hearing on dog ordinance, June 27, 7:15 PM, at the Ellenville Government Center, 2 Elting Court, Ellenville, NY 12428.

A few Ellenville trustees and officials quoted in the article below expressed fear of “pit bulls” and Rottweilers. Respectful correspondence and educational materials may help (as well as a reminder that breed-specific ordinances are not legal in NY).

Contact information for Ellenville officials:
Village Manager Mary Sheeley, msheeley@villageofellenville.com
Village Clerk Noreen Dechon, ndechon@villageofellenville.com
Mayor Jeff Kaplan, jkaplan@villageofellenville.com
Trustee Francisco Oliveras, foliveras@villageofellenville.com
Trustee Raymond Younger, ryounger@villageofellenville.com
Trustee Patricia Steinhoff, psteinhoff@villageofellenville.com
Trustee Efrain Lopez, elopez@villageofellenville.com

Email block for cut-and-paste
msheeley@villageofellenville.com; ndechon@villageofellenville.com; jkaplan@villageofellenville.com; foliveras@villageofellenville.com; ryounger@villageofellenville.com; psteinhoff@villageofellenville.com; elopez@villageofellenville.com

Village Attorney Peter Berger
130 South Main Street, PO Box 509, Ellenville NY 12428
(845) 647-4000
(845) 647-6029 (fax)

Dogs Gone Wild

String of Attacks Prompts Village to Act
By Jane Anderson

ELLENVILLE – A public hearing is scheduled for June 27 to gain public input on the ongoing problem of dog attacks in the village, particularly concerning pit bulls. Residents are encouraged to attend.

The hearing is scheduled for 7:15 p.m. Village Attorney Peter Berger is drawing up a local law addressing dog control in the village, and it will be discussed during the hearing.[…]

Mayor Jeff Kaplan said there are “dangerous dog” laws, licensing laws, and leash laws in the village. “The question is A: Do we establish requirements and restrictions that go beyond what’s out there now, and B: How do we go about doing it? It’s not an easy issue but it’s one that we need to discuss.”

He said the village could establish laws that ban certain breeds from the downtown area, but said that dog owners might protest such a ban.[…]

Full article retrieved 6/17/11 from http://www.shawangunkjournal.com/2011/06/16/news/1106161.html

Advertisements

Comments are closed.