Egelston Township, MI: BSL proposed

A new proposed ordinance in Egelston Township would place restrictions on ownership of “pit bulls.” The Board of Trustees is expected to discuss the ordinance on September 19 at 7:00 PM. Meetings are held in the meeting room at the Egelston Township Complex, 5428 E. Apple Ave. Muskegon, MI 49442
Phone: 231-788-2308
Fax: 231-788-5248

Contact information for Town Trustees
Supervisor Mike Thompson, mthompson@egelstontwp.org
231-788-2308 Ext. 11
Clerk Joan Raap, jraap@egelstontwp.org
231-788-2308 Ext. 16
Treasurer Deb Ackerman, dackerman@egelstontwp.org
231-788-2308 Ext. 15
Walt Bowen, wbowen@egelstontwp.org
Maria Harjer, mharjer@egelstontwp.org
John Holter, jholter@egelstontwp.org
Bethann Rahn, brahn@egelstontwp.org

Email block for cut and paste
mthompson@egelstontwp.org; jraap@egelstontwp.org; dackerman@egelstontwp.org; wbowen@egelstontwp.org; mharjer@egelstontwp.org; jholter@egelstontwp.org; brahn@egelstontwp.org

Pit bulls, crocodiles and panthers targeted in Egelston Township’s proposed dangerous animal ordinance

Published: Friday, September 02, 2011, 11:04 AM
By Lynn Moore | The Muskegon Chronicle

Pit bulls would have to be kept indoors or in a covered kennel and walked with a muzzle under a new ordinance proposed in Egelston Township.

The township board is expected to discuss the ordinance, which was prepared by the planning commission, at its Sept. 19 meeting.

Based on Muskegon Township’s ordinance, the proposal targets dangerous animals ranging from wolves to poisonous snakes to elephants. But the primary target of the ordinance are pit bulls, also known as American pit bull terriers or Staffordshire bull terriers, or dogs with the “appearance and characteristics of being predominately” pit bull. […]

Full article retrieved 9/3/11 from http://www.mlive.com/news/muskegon/index.ssf/2011/09/pit_bulls_targeted_in_egelston.html

Advertisements

Comments are closed.