North Carolina HB956 assigned to committee

UPDATED INFORMATION HERE

The North Carolina bill to restrict ownership of multiple breeds of dogs has been referred to the House Committee on Rules, Calendar and Operations of the House. No date has been set as of yet for the bill to be heard.

HB 956 would restrict the following breeds and their mixes:

Rottweiler
Mastiff
Chow
Presa Canario
wolf hybrid
pit bull, which are defined as Staffordshire Bull Terrier, American Staffordshire Terrier, and American Pit Bull Terrier

The bills sponsor Rep. Moore is now saying that he derived this list based off of dogs that insurance companies restrict.  Basing legislation on restrictions from insurance companies would be absolutely detrimental to dog owners everywhere who currently have insurance, or want to obtain insurance. Considering that one of the requirements of the bill is to notify an insurance company that you have a targeted dog and are in compliance with the regulations, should this pass, we can expect people to be dropped from their insurance, even if there were previously no issues.

North Carolina residents: Members of the committee to write in opposition of the bill can be found here.

Block e-mails: (Remember that if you put all the e-mail addresses in the “to” line the e-mail may be bounced back as spam so be sure to utilize to CC address line):

Tim.Moore@ncleg.net, Justin.Burr@ncleg.net, Paul.Stam@ncleg.net, John.Blust@ncleg.net, Jamie.Boles@ncleg.net, Marcus.Brandon@ncleg.net, William.Brisson@ncleg.net, Becky.Carney@ncleg.net, Leo.Daughtry@ncleg.net, Jean.Farmer-Butterfield@ncleg.net,
Elmer.Floyd@ncleg.net, Larry.Hall@ncleg.net, Susi.Hamilton@ncleg.net,
Kelly.Hastings@ncleg.net, Bryan.Holloway@ncleg.net, Darren.Jackson@ncleg.net, Linda.Johnson2@ncleg.net, David.Lewis@ncleg.net, Tim.Moffitt@ncleg.net, Jason.Saine@ncleg.net, Ruth.Samuelson@ncleg.net, Edgar.Starnes@ncleg.net, Michael.Stone@ncleg.net, John.Torbett@ncleg.net

Please continue to reach out to the bills sponsors to urge them to withdraw the bill.

Representative Rodney Moore: Rodney.Moore@ncleg.net

Representative Larry Pittman: Larry.Pittman@ncleg.net

Previous alert for North Carolina.

Advertisements

6 responses to “North Carolina HB956 assigned to committee

  1. Pingback: North Carolina bill filed to restrict multiple breeds | Stop BSL

  2. christie bayne

    These breeds should not be restricted, they are not the problem. Instead people should be screened more before owning any animal. It is how they train these dogs to be.

  3. You start with legislation like this and soon tread into the territory of profiling. This is just one small start to the many infringements of our civil rights. Perhaps if Animal Cruelty had harsher penalties, people would think twice before abusing the power of these breeds.

  4. Elizabeth Shockley

    That we are even considering BSL saddens me. My first two dogs were Rotties. I lost them both to cancer at the age of 14. I was so heartbroken, I decided I could never own another dog, so I started voluntering at the local shelter. It wasn’t long before I was volunteering for the breed that had captured my heart with thier loyalty, intelligence and just being loveable, my Rotties. I have helped rescue and rehabilitate neglected and abused rotties from all over the US. In all my years of experience, I have never come across a rottie that was “born bad”, I have however come across bad people. I have a 99% success rate with rehabilitation and rehoming. I had to put one rottie down because I just could not help him and he actually bit me. The autopsy revealed multiple tumors pressing on his brain from where he had been beaten by humans. Again, not born a bad dog, just treated badly by people. Allowing any kind of BSL to pass continues this….people being bad to animals by not allowing them to be owned by compassionate people that will take care of them and not abuse them. Please don’t even consider BSL in our state. We are above that.

  5. Pingback: North Carolina bill to restrict multiple breeds is nixed | Stop BSL