Tag Archives: broward county breed specific legislation

Broward County Florida legislator seeking a pit bull ban

Miami-Dade county has a well-known pit bull ban. One lawmaker in Broward County is now seeking to ban pit bulls as well.  According to the New Times…

Barbara Sharief, Vice Mayor of the Broward County Commission, will introduce a motion today to make it illegal to “own and keep” American pit bull terriers, American Staffordshire terriers, Staffordshire bull terriers — or any dog that may “conform” to a pit bull breed.

Sharief also states that though she knows there will be a backlash, she claims there is more support than opposition, so it is extremely important to make your voices heard.

The whole article can be found here.

It is important to note that Florida has a law prohibiting breed specific legislation. However, this motion appears to seek to overturn the state law.

“A. MOTION TO APPROVE addition to the state legislative program making it illegal to own and keep American Pit Bull Terriers, American Staffordshire Terriers, Staffordshire Bull Terriers or any other dog that substantially conforms to any of these “pit bull” breed characteristics; support addition to the state legislative program imposing a state fine for acquiring or keeping these specific animals.”

Broward Residents: Act now to oppose this baseless action. This topic should be presented in the February 26th meeting.  Meetings begin at 10 AM in room 422 of the Broward County Governmental Center. Schedules and agendas can be found here.

Contact information for the commission:

The commissions websites and districts can be found here.

Vice Mayor Barbara Sharief
Broward County Governmental Center
115 S. Andrews Ave., Room 410
Fort Lauderdale, FL 33301
Phone: 954-357-7008

Martin David Kiar
email: mkiar@broward.org
Phone: 954-357-7001

Mayor Kristin Jacobs, Phone: 954- 357-7002

Email: kjacobs@broward.org

Stacy Ritter
sritter@broward.org
Phone: 954-357-7003

Chip LaMarca
email: clamarca@broward.org
Phone: 954-357-7004

Lois Wexler
lwexler@broward.org
Phone: 954-357-7005

Sue Gunzburger
sgunzburger@broward.org
Telephone: 954-357-7006

Tim Ryan
email: tryan@broward.org
Phone: 954-357-7007

Dale Holness
dholness@broward.org
Phone: 954-357-7009

Advertisements